RSS

The O. Henry Project

01 Sep

William Sydney Porter, aka O. Henry, is one of my father’s favorite short story authors.  For about two years of his life, O. Henry wrote one short story a week.  I could do that.  I highly doubt that my stories will be as good, especially in these first attempts, but my philosophy is that there is no better way to become a writer that to write.

Here’s the plan:  Starting today, September 1, 2011, I will be writing one short story a week for an entire year, ending September 1, 2012.  I am calling this The O. Henry Project.  (As it turns out, O. Henry’s birthday is on September 11, so this is a very appropriate time to begin.)  Once a week we will have a dinner/meeting for all my cohorts who will join me in the madness.  We will read short stories, discuss our own projects, and maybe even come up with some crazy challenges.

Every Friday (or possibly Saturday) I will be posting updates for The Project.

HAPPY WRITING!


In other news, a friend of mine, Lev AC Rosen, is soon to be a published novelist!  His new book, All Men of Genius, made the Best Books of the Month list for Amazon.com.  Congrats, Lev!  I’m looking forward to reading your book!

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in The O. Henry Project

 

One response to “The O. Henry Project

  1. Lev AC Rosen

    September 9, 2011 at 5:00 am

    Thanks, darlin! I hope you love the book!

     

Leave a Reply

 
