RSS

Self-Employed

02 Jun

I am going to try to refer to myself as “self-employed,” rather than “unemployed.” I am sure that right now I am in the same boat with thousands of Americans, frustrated that I can’t get a human being in person, much less on the phone, to answer all of my questions about how to properly fill out my paperwork. I am not the type of person to ask for help, but I have needed to, and it has been a whirlwind of government offices and forms and automated messages that seem to have me constantly traveling in circles.

It has been about one month since I was on someone’s payroll. I have rewritten my resume more times than I can count. I have responded to every craigslist posting that seemed reasonably relevant. I have ignored my shop to look for a “real” job without acknowledging that I am a confident, capable, creative young women who owns her own business. So while I will continue to polish my resume and continue to apply for jobs, I am taking a moment today to appreciate what I have accomplished on my own.

I am self-employed, not unemployed. I guess I should go back to the unemployment office to correct my paperwork…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in Unemployment

 

Leave a Reply

 
